PO BOX 3729
225 E Weatherspoon St
Sanford, NC 27331




The City of Sanford has a council-manager form of government. The Governing Body consists of the Mayor and seven Council members—five from specific wards and two at large. The Mayor is the presiding officer for the Council. Council members are elected for four-year terms.

The Council is responsible for establishing general policies for the City; appointing the City Manager, City Clerk, and members of various boards and commissions; enacting ordinances, resolutions and orders; reviewing the annual budget; and authorizing contracts on the City’s behalf.

The City Council meets the first and third Tuesday at 7:00 P.M. of each month in Council Chambers at the Municipal Building at 225 E. Weatherspoon Street in Sanford. The Law and Finance Committee of the Council meets the Wednesday preceding each Council Meeting in the Council Chambers at 5:00 P.M. Special meetings may be called in accordance with G.S. 160A-71.

The public is welcome to attend the meetings in the Council Chambers, watch the meeting televised on Sanford TV191 on Charter Communications or view the meeting online. Public comment is open during the first and third Tuesday Council Meetings. Please sign up 15 minutes prior to the meeting with the City Clerk.

Council Members

Council Ward Map

Boards & Commissions

Meeting Agenda

Meeting Minutes

Meeting Video Archive

Public Comment Policy

Funding for Nonprofits Application

Boards & Commissions Application




home | about us | help | contact



City Council meets the first and third Tuesday of each month in City Hall's Council Chambers at 7:00pm.

Law & Finance meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month in City Hall's Council Chambers at 7:00pm.

All Council meetings are aired on Channel 191, the city's government access channel, on Charter Communications for one week following the meeting at 3pm, 6pm, & 10pm.